I have a big, white bone to pick with the racism still going strong south of the border. To be blunt, I have a problem with racism anywhere (including here in Canada, where we pretend we don’t have it). But that is an entire post in itself. I can’t even begin to imagine what it’s like to be afraid of a police officer when being pulled over or stopped on the street. I can’t imagine what it is like to be turned away or automatically judged because of the colour of my skin. I am appalled and embarrassed at the history of treatment that my white communities and politicians have given to those who are black, latino, aboriginal, or any other ethnic background other than Caucasian.

This particular bone I have to pick is with the Caucasian race somehow seeing itself as a superior race, especially over their own African-American neighbours and colleagues. I’m not sure that white people got the memo, but they are most definitely NOT superior. In fact, if any race is inferior, we could argue the opposite of what we have been taught.

ohno

Right now, I”m sure there are a few tighty-whiteys all tied up in a bunch over those words! However, I shall proceed with my evidence of the contrary. Here is my list of reasons Black People are more Superior than White People:

Reason Number 1: Music. Hands down. Have you been to a predominantly black Church service on a Sunday? If so, you’re one of the lucky ones. Full of happy noise, music, dancing and ‘praise the lords’ in joyous voices! Walk across the street to the predominantly white church, and you’re either terrified or bored to death. And you have to be so damn quiet. Just sit there, shut up and recite your Psalm or you will go to hell.

It doesn’t end there. All that great music we hear on the charts, too many genres to list, and 75% of the time, it’s not a white person performing.

I haven’t even began to discuss the entire genre that is hip hop. White people cannot dare to say we had any part in the evolution of hip hop culture. It stems from African music roots and it is a part of the black community that white people cannot take from. Those of you screaming “Eminem is the greatest rapper alive and he’s white!”, I respectfully disagree. I love Eminem. I have seen him live and I credit his talents to bridging the racial gap within hip hop music; but Marshall Mathers himself will tell you, without Nas and Biggie and Tupac, there would be no Eminem. If you don’t know who those guys are I will give you a hint– they’re not white.

I also hear those of you who don’t listen to hip hop, yelling: “What about Elvis? The King of Rock n Roll!?”  Sure, he was white. But where did he get his chart-topping (and controversial) hits from? Oh, that’s right. The African-American music community! At one point, early in his career, many people thought the voice they heard was that of a black man. Of course, if you want to talk about music, then we must carry on to dancing. Elvis sure had moves…..the Christians were up in arms about his gyrating hips and sultry moves that were so, how should we put it?……black.

There is no doubt about it, white people can’t dance. Or at least not like their black friends and neighbours; and if they can dance, you can bet your last mighty dollar they learned from the best –people like Bill “Bojangles” Robinson, Josephine Baker, Gregory Hines and of course Michael Jackson and his sister Janet. Music and moves go together in the black community so effortlessly and we in the white community just don’t fully understand the influence they have had over our pop culture.

Number 3: Sports. Yes, yes, I know….many people of all backgrounds have excelled at sports (including white people), but I am just throwing it out there for those of us who are not on an NBA or NFL team. White people tend to struggle a lot more at dribbling and tackling than black people. In fact, most NBA teams are primarily made up of black players, and NFL teams consistently have more black players than white; this cannot be due to the fact that it’s so easy for black students and athletes to get in to University or even good high schools. We know for a fact the opposite is true. Therefore, we must recognize that young black athletes and students face adversity and lack of opportunity every step of the way, yet their determination and talent propel them forward.

Number 4: Dress. Some of you might be scratching your head at this one but I dare you to picture any white male you know dressed in a pink polo shirt. I bet you want to picture Leonardo Dicaprio’s character from ‘Wolf of Wallstreet’ but you are delusional. You should picture Jonah Hill’s character instead. Complete with the bad hair and sweater thrown over the shoulders for the ultimate WASP effect. Before you say ‘Carlton from Fresh Prince of Bel Air’, let me remind you that even Carlton rocked that look better than any white man. In fact, have you ever seen a black man look awful in a pink shirt? I rest my case.

Before I finish this post, I want to ask: “Did I offend you with these comparisons?”

Did I strike a nerve that hits you like a brick? Are you screaming “How dare you throw these statements out there without cold, hard facts!”

If I offended you, then  –Good.

Imagine how everyone who isn’t white feels when we as a society, constantly base our opinions and comparisons of them on nonsensical theories and historically inaccurate ideologies. How dare we, as one and the same, decide that we are better or superior than anyone else? Especially when we base it on colour of skin, religion, or sexual orientation? We are all different yet the same on so many levels and if we could reach out to each other and help each other succeed rather than push each other down, we would be in a much better place. And we might all end up better dancers.

