Nervous drug.

via Daily Prompt: Nervous

When I was a kid, I was always in some theatrical performance, dance number or choir recital. I was considered the class clown and always up for attention, negative or positive. I still remember feeling so nervous before I did a solo or went on stage for the first act I thought I might faint and vomit at the same time. That nervous energy became a drug to me. I thrived on it. Like heroin, it made me light-headed and nauseous yet elated all at the same time. What else could make me feel like that? Thankfully, I didn’t resort to heroin when my life in the small-town theatre ended with adulthood.

However, I still get nervous. Job interview? Check. Performance Review? Check. Publishing a blog post?  Check. Every. Single. Time.

Nervous is a great word to describe the action of facing those fears and using them as a motivator no matter what. The audacity it takes to slap that nervousness into high-gear and use it to your advantage is a superpower we all possess. We just gotta get past those stage-fright jitters. We just have to say ‘screw it’ and hit SEND. Take that leap of faith and go for it. Nervous energy is like your soul whispering that it’s hungry for more and you just need to take the wheel and drive. It doesn’t matter if you don’t know where the road takes you as long as you’re in the driver’s seat.

I wouldn’t trade my nervousness for the world; it is there to remind me that I’m alive and that I am still full of life.

One thought on “Nervous drug.

  1. I think athletes have that same type of feeling…..nervous about being center stage when the ball comes to you, that you need to make the play. Good athletes USE that energy to their advantage, as a catalyst to make them make the play when the pressure is on, when the people are watching, when their FRIENDS are watching….
    Love it

    Like

Leave a Reply

